Customer Reviews

My secret mix
by Diane on 5/19/2014
After about a year of mixing titanium dioxide with my base oils and still getting lumps no matter how well I would mix. By accident I used distilled water, WOW, never another white speck in my CP soap. If any one has had this problem please try this. I have been reading these reviews of frustration. Use the water....No Lumps NO Bumps. Also if you are still having problems ...( I saw this on youtube) I will mix with water and warm up in microwave for 10 sec makes for beautiful white CP soap.
Nice enough for tinting.
by Sherry on 5/17/2014
The only issue I had even though I mixed it with a bit of oil was it was grainy and did not dissolve as well as I would have liked.

Reply from Bramble Berry
Hi Sherry! To ensure that the Titanium Dioxide blends smoothly into the soap batter, we recommend micronizing it before dispersing it in oil. To micronize colorant, simply use a coffee grinder to blend the colorant to break up any clumps of color and prevent streaks of white from showing in the final soap. We like to use a coffee grinder that has a removable, stainless steel mixing area for easy cleaning. Then, disperse 1 teaspoon of the colorant into 1 tablespoon of Sunflower or Sweet Almond Oil (or any other liquid oil).

I love it
by HANADI on 3/17/2014
Disolving Titanium Dioxide tip
by Sonia on 2/15/2014
To Rosalind and Stephanie....In response to your usage of TD, I experienced the same, however there's a solution to everything, I sifted the TD as you will with flour and powdered sugar, then I mixed it the sunflower oil and sifted it again to reassure no granulars substances effect, and this took care of my frustration and my soaps came out beautiful without white streaky lines. CP soaps remind me of baking, so I incorporated the same techniques into my soaps. I hope this help both of you and don't get discourage if it doesn't work the first time, there's always a solution, a scientist at my job told me that it was impossible to disolve TD, I didn't take no for an answer. Like with any powder humidity gets into product inevitably so sifting help loosen up the particles as it does w flour and powdered sugar. Happy soaping!
Its doing something weird to my soap
by Rosalind on 2/6/2014
I used this in two batches of soap, the first time I mixed with water and the second time I mixed with the oil. Both times my soap came out with wiggly lines through out, as though it separated from the oil. I don't know what's causing this, but I'm a little afraid to try using it again. Am I going to have to give up trying to get my white soap? I must admit, as it is drying they seem to be disappearing a bit. Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong?

Reply from Bramble Berry
If you're using titanium dioxide in cold process soap, we highly recommend dispersing it in oil first. We usually mix 1 teaspoon of colorant into 1 tablespoon or Sweet Almond or Sunflower oil. You can use a mini mixer to really make sure it's mixed in! This will ensure that the colorant also disperses evenly in your soap as well. We use titanium dioxide in many of our cold process recipes, and it's a very reliable colorant.

Use with water
by Stephanie on 1/15/2014
The first time I used this I'm my CP soap I tried mixing it in oil. I got some clumps that I had to work out but in the end my soap turned out fine. The second time I tried mixing it with water an it made quite a difference. It mixed in easier without clumping and stayed together. It worked well in my CP soap to tone down brighter colors.
Great in CP Soap / Problems in Re-Batch
by Vicki on 12/16/2013
I love TD in my CP soaps. I have not had any trouble with clumping and my resulting soaps have always turned out gorgeous. However, when I attempted to re-batch a loaf that had TD in it my results were less than stellar. No matter the amount of water/oils I mixed in the soap would not soften up enough to go into a mold. The soap stayed hard and clumped together. I ended up making soap balls. (which turned out lovely) But from now on I will stick to using TD in CP soap only.
Mixing
by Shannon on 11/9/2013
I did not have any luck premixing in oil and logged on for helpful reviews. I will definitely be trying the suggestions of mixing with distilled water with much more success! My batch I received is a but clumpy - would running through a pulse blender to "powderize" help before blending with water?

Reply from Bramble Berry
Hi Shannon! Sometimes that Titanium Dioxide can be a bit tricky to work with, but it is also water-soluble, so you can mix it with either to work in your soap. If you find it to be clumpy, using a mini-mixer will definitely help it blend in easier.

Doesn't mix well
by Erin on 10/31/2013
Tried mixing it with oil, then tried with water. It stayed chalky, even after I let it sit and repeatedly used a mini-mixer on it. I noticed someone had rated it poorly when I bought it and said that it was chalky. That review seems to have disappeared. I hope that mine will not disappear...

Reply from Bramble Berry
Hi Erin! We've never had our Titanium Dioxide give us too much trouble when mixing into either water or oil, we'd love to hear more about what happened in your batch and will be contacting you via e-mail to find out more! Anne-Marie uses this product exclusively in her Soap Queen tutorials and has never had a problem. We generally don’t delete reviews unless it’s clear that the product wasn't being used correctly or if it was a customer service/technical support question so not to worry, your review is safe but be looking for our email so we can help guide you through getting fabulous results with this product

TD mix in water vs oils
by Deborah on 10/28/2013
I have tried and tried mixing my TD in oil for CP soap and always found that after it sits for a while it clumps up. I was amazed and completely happy when I mixed this TD pigment with distilled water and found how easy it dissolved and mixed into my main batter. I love tho TD pigment and will always buy it from Brambleberry.
An unusual effect?
by cathy on 9/15/2013
I don't know if anyone else has noticed this, but I notice that when I use TD with my lab colors they tend to not bleed. It's also great when I want to tone down a strong color, ie, soft pink instead of velvet red:)))
Mix with water
by SHELIA on 8/19/2013
If you mix this with distilled water it will dissolve immediately. Mixes so much easier in water than oil.

Submit a review

You must be logged in to write a review. Login