Product Reviews

Average Review:

Showing 1 - 5 of 10 Reviews:

 

Karen
11/30/2014
LCP Clear Melt & Pour

I live in south Louisiana about 30 miles from the Gulf of Mexico, if the humidity goes below 70% we are lucky. I usually make my own melt and pour soap bases. I decided to try this base hoping it would not "sweat". I find this base is brittle and cracks. It does have a good lather and feels good on the skin. I guess it is made for higher humidity areas. Not what this "tropical" area needs. This is the 1st product I have purchased from Bramble Berry that was not 100%, to my liking. Reply from Bramble Berry Hi Karen! I'm sorry this product wasn't your favorite. In our tests and recipes, we've found it doesn't crack, as seen in this Tile Inlay Cold Process Tutorial. However, since it is more dry and contains less glycerin it does not cut as smoothly as our house base nor is it quite as clear. I'll be emailing you personally to resolve this!

Reply from Bramble Berry
Hi Karen! I'm sorry this product wasn't your favorite. Unlike our other soap bases, it doesn't have any additional glycerin. That means it will be a little harder. To make that a little softer, you can add up to 5% distilled water. Our customer service manager will be calling you to discuss this!


Brandi
11/19/2014
Crumbly, Messy, Hard to work with

Perhaps I just have terrible luck. I gave this 2 stars because it doesn't sweat, but it was a nightmare to work with. Every bit of it was crumbly and brittle. Cutting this up to work with it left shards of soap all over my work area, my clothes, my floor. I was told by BB this was because the base is dry to begin with, and mine apparently got too cold during shipping. I was told to add a bit of glycerin or water to perk it back up, which only made it gummy. I placed 32 ounces of the base in my 8-cup Pyrex cup, which is my standard procedure for melting 32 ounces of any base. I set the time for 30 sec. When I opened the door, the base was bubbling and the cup was hot to the touch. Before I even got it to my table to start adding color and fragrance, it had formed a thick skin on the top. I was so excited to try this, but all in all, I am disappointed in this base. I am only able to use it to make one or two 4-ounce bars at a time. Be careful ordering during cold weather!!

Reply from Bramble Berry
Hi Brandi! I'm sorry this base wasn't your favorite. In our tests and recipes, the base didn't crack, as seen in this Tile Inlay Cold Process Tutorial. However, since it is more dry and contains less glycerin it does not cut as smoothly as our house base nor is it quite as clear. I'll be emailing you personally to resolve this.


amy
10/30/2014
AWESOME

If you have any king of soap business buying the 5o lbs unwrapped is the best idea! It comes in these pre-shaped logs that make it soooo easy to cut apart. (believe me I have bought many 25 lb blocks) This product is great also especially since I live in the pacific northwest, it doesnt bead!


Gwendolyn
8/17/2014
Glycerin dew gone!

Everywhere I create soaps there is humidity. I am so happy with this soap as well as the white LCP base for all my soaping fun. They lather nicely, as well. I thought I'd have to stop soaping all together because of our travels to humid climates. Thank you, BB, for making this available to us!


Jennifer
6/30/2014
Works Great

I didn't even think it was possible to get a clear base that didn't sweat! I decided to order 10 lbs and give it a shot and I am so glad I did. When the blocks came in, they were cloudier than the clear base I normally use, but I decided to go ahead and give it a try. Once melted and molded, it's much clearer. I have been letting the soap sit out for days now and no sweat at all. I am in the south and it's June so this is completely unheard of for me!

12