Product Reviews

Average Review:

Showing 1 - 5 of 10 Reviews:

 

Verified Purchase
Jennifer
11/5/2016
Bad odour phenonip

I tried using this product in my body scrub and realised that not only did it overmask the scent of the essential oil but it also gave the scrub an awful smell. Fortunately it was a trial run. I agree with the others that Brambleberry should mention that this product is likely to make your product a bit smelly.


Verified Purchase
Larissa
10/7/2016
Not what I was expecting.....

I recently started making and selling my own bath and body products and realized I needed a preservative for certain items. I make products that are infused with organic tea for slight scents and didn't want bacteria growing.sadly I cannot use my preservative because it overtakes the tea smell of everything I put it in. Its very overpowering and not what I was expecting.

Kelsey from Bramble Berry replies...
Hi Larissa! I'm sorry this preservative wasn't what you were expecting. We love the Phenonip, though it is a full-strength, full-spectrum preservative and does have a subtle smell. For use in bath and body products that use all oils, you would only need the lowest recommended amount (0.5%), so using a bit less may help cut down on the smell. Customer service has emailed you directly to help troubleshoot. :)


Verified Purchase
Stephanie
2/12/2016
Excellent for Goats Milk Lotion

This preservative is the best I found in my research to use in goat milk lotion. Broad spectrum, higher flash point, and I have had no problems with this at all. Thanks BB for making this an affordable preservative for us small business owners! I do not detect a smell as others have said...


Verified Purchase
Dawn
9/23/2015
Inexpensive and does the job

Doesn't smell at all not one bit. Ever. Have used this to preserve 100's of lbs of body butter for a few years... No complaints about spoiling ever. Not one. Perfect.


Verified Purchase
Carrie
5/19/2015
There is definitely a lingering odor...

even when used at the rate of .5% as I did in the last two batches of lotion. I took care to read the comments and Brambleberry's suggestions and responses. I used orange 5x EO and the combo of the scent from the phenonip combined with orange is a little nauseating. The phenonip scent, to my olfactory unit, is a very sweet, cloying floral. I'm going to try the other preservative BB carries and possibly experiment with other EOs and the phenonip to see if it blends well with anything. But I do think it would be nice if BB acknowledges that this preservative does, in fact, affect the final scent of the product. There have been enough customers reporting this to warrant a statement like that and many people would really appreciate the info. Thanks for your wonderful website, BB. I find interesting and helpful info on this site all the time!

Terah from Bramble Berry replies...
Hi Carrie! I'm so sorry you were disappointed with this preservative. We use our Phenonip all of the time and have never noticed a lingering odor in our final products as seen in our Emulsified Scrub (from Scratch) on Soap Queen TV. I even went out to our warehouse to smell the Phenonip out of bottle to see exactly what you were talking about and detected no sweet, floral scent at all it smelled more lightly of plastic. I am worried you may have received the wrong product. I will email you personally to resolve this issue.

12