Shopping Cart

Specials

Products

Resources

  • Silicone Column Mold

click on thumbnail to zoom
Qty Price  
$21.00

Description 

Silicone Column Mold: This innovative 2-piece silicone loaf mold makes round soap that is amazingly easy to unmold.  The mold design makes use of extra thick silicone to keep the sides from bowing out and distorting the round shape. The interlocking seal is simple to use, no clamps or bands are needed. And of course, since it is made of silicone, this mold is extremely easy to release your soap and wash. As with most silicone molds, your cp soap may need an extra day or two in this mold to fully harden since the flexible silicone sides do not allow air inside the mold, which results in slower evaporation of water and hardening of your soap. Works well with melt & pour soap, too!

Tip: If making Cold Process soap in this (or any) silicone mold we recommend adding Sodium Lactate to your recipe. This will help to harden up your soap so that there won't be any dents or finger marks from unmolding the soap.

Please Note: To avoid any leaking make sure the interlocking seal is fully pressed together around the entire edge of the mold. For an extra secure seal use bulldog clips on each side to keep the mold secure even while being jiggled and moved.

Care of your mold: We recommend hand washing your mold.

Cavity: 1

Cavity Dimensions: 9-3/4" (length) X 2-3/4" (diameter)

Cavity Capacity: 34 oz

Check out a great tutorial on how to use this mold here.

Reviews

Average Rating:
(based on 13 reviews)

Showing 1 - 5 of 13 Reviews:

Verified Purchase
by Tom
on 6/4/2015
I like it
I've used this mold twice now and really don't see any problems. Yes, it could be a bit longer. It seals well - did not need clips. Another comment mentioned insulating and it made me wonder if using a space blanket would do the trick vice layers of towels. Truly I do not understand gel phase. Is it a good thing? Does it matter?

Terah from Bramble Berry replies...
Hi Tom! I'm so glad you like our Silicone Column Mold. A space blanket would definitely help insulate your soap! Gel phase is purely an aesthetic issue, it does not affect the overall quality of your soap. Gelled soap tend to be more translucent and hold bright colors while non-gelled soap looks more muted. Find out more about gel phase in our Jazzed about Gel Phase blog post. I will email you personally to discuss this further.

Verified Purchase
by Barb
on 3/29/2015
Good bye pringles cans
i luv this mold for my shaving soap. although after reading some of the reviews i did take the pre-caution of using binder clips along both sides of this mold and set it inside a container in case it leaked out the bottom. i still would set it inside something before i pour....just as a pre-caution but feel confidient that the binder clips are not needed. i will never line another pringles can again. it unmolded perfectly. my only complaint is that i cut at 1 inch thick and if you fill the mold to the top that last cut is not a full 1 inch....so if the mold was a smidge longer i would luv it even more.
Verified Purchase
by Aundrea
on 11/16/2014
Buying another right now.
I really like this mold. I have two and have used them quite a lot. The only time I had any soap escape while tapping (and I don't tap gently), I discovered that I had not lined the sides up properly when I had put the mold together. As long as I line the sides up properly and check the inside to make sure everything is pressed together and lined up, I have no problems and I get such nice, round soap.
Verified Purchase
by Anastasija
on 7/30/2014
Perfection!
Yesterday I made soap in this mold. It is beautiful. Regardless of the other reviews, I can say that I use it as usual, with tapping and without any bulldog clips, and everything was fine. Soap is almost perfect)))
Verified Purchase
by Stacey G
on 7/26/2014
Seal Does Not Hold Up Even With Clips!
I was all ready to give this mold a 5 star review until tonight. I had previously made 3 beautiful batches in this mold with no issues. I purchased clips and placed 2 along each side, just to be on the safe side. Tonight, as I gently tapped the mold to release any air bubbles, both sides split open and oozed my soap batter all over the place. Even with the clips, which became an oily mess and didn't want to stay in place after the spillage. It seems as though the seal does not hold as securely as it does the first couple of uses. Very disappointed in this mold. Even with adding clips and tapping gently...it still failed. I wouldn't purchase again nor would I recommend this mold. :(

Reply from Bramble Berry
Hi Stacey! I'm sorry this mold wasn't your favorite. We've found it works well for soap, as seen in this Oatmeal Milk and Honey Cold Process Soap. Because the seam runs along the bottom of the mold, we don't recommend tapping it. To help reduce air bubbles, you can pour your soap slowly down the side. I'll be emailing personally to resolve this issue!

123
Review and Rate this Item

Email A Friend

Send your friend a link to this product.